The Power of Purple….

image

Amethyst is my birthstone with the hues of violet.

It is intersting to note that the name originates from the Ancient Greek word meaning “not intoxicated”, a reference to the belief that the stone protected its owner from drunkenness.

The ancient Greeks and Romans wore amethyst and made drinking cups of it in the belief that it would prevent  intoxication.

Now that’s the power of purple: )

Since it’s my birthday, I have a very simple scarf pattern, very light and airy. Perfect for the spring season and maybe to protect the wearer from a state of intoxication ; )

Amethyst

image

Yarn:  Drops Kid Silk or Rowan Kid Silk Haze in purple
Needle size:  7mm

Cast on 30 stitches.
Knit, knit, knit…every row until the ball is finished (leave a couple of metres)

Bind off, weave in the ends.

Ready to wear: )

it’s also competition time…

a random draw for one ball of kid silk to knit the Amethyst scarf.  Just comment on my blog from today until Friday 21st February. I’ll announce the winner on Saturday…

Edited: I’ve added another prize to the amethyst competition. Check out the DKC Facebook to enter. “non-knitters” are welcome to join

http://on.fb.me/1eLF9UJ

13 Comments to “The Power of Purple….”

  1. Happy birthday! Purple and all it’s shades rule for especially now I have a beautiful little grand daughter called Violet…

  2. Should I ever be out in the pub and drinking cider, I’ll have to remember that amethyst trick! 😉

  3. Happy birthday also! I’ll be making that for my mum as it’s her favourite colour!! I’ve only just found your blog too – love it!

  4. Purple is my favorite color too :). Happy birthday!

  5. Happy birthday! That’s amazing about amethyst, I never knew its formidable powers 🙂

  6. Best wishes! Lovely way to capture amethyst. 🙂

  7. Lovely scarf…the simple construction shows of the beautiful yarn.

  8. I am passionate about purple! and I don’t even drink!

  9. lovely scarf Diane – Happy Birthday

  10. Happy birthday! Purple is also one of my favourite colours 😉

  11. Lovely color and pattern! Happy birthday!

  12. Happy birthday! Hope you have a good one !

  13. happy birthday – love the scarf and the colour 🙂

Leave a Reply

