Bake Knit Sew…all rolled into one

I first met  Evin O’Keeffe in 2011 at a Fibre Feis weekend in Macroom, Co. Cork and again in 2012.

Our virtual friendship has flourished the last couple of years through Ravelry and Twitter . My readers will remember Evin as a guest blogger in 2012 when I was out of commission having eye surgery. She wrote two blogposts, here and here.

I followed Evin’s trials and tribulations as she worked on her first book, Bake Knit Sew.

Bake Knit Sew cover copyright Evin O’Keeffe

I was absolutely delighted for Evin when her book was completed, and more so honoured when she asked me if the Dublin Knit Collective could be a scheduled stop on her first book blog tour.

When Evin announced the schedule for the book blog tour, I was ever so slightly intimidated and terrified that I was included with amazing bloggers who are eloquent and savvy at chronicling their lives online.

Liz was the first to kick off the Blog Tour this week, followed by fellow Dublin Knitter, Cathy. This blog tour post follows, food blogger Jen.

I received Bake Knit Sew in the e-book format and immediately downloaded it onto my tablet. As I flicked through the pages on the touch screen, I savoured the crisp and sharp images of cakes, cookies and pies while mentally taking note of a few knitting patterns that were going to be added to my Ravelry queue.

The book is cleverly organised into twelve months with one baking recipe and a knitting or sewing pattern for each month of the year.

Baking cakes and pies are not my forte, however, cookies are my favourite things to bake in the kitchen.

imagecopyright Evin O’Keeffe

The book includes two cookie recipes, Snickerdoodles and Cookie Monsters that stir up memories of my childhood. Images of Sesame Street and the children’s rhyming game, “who stole the cookie from the cookie jar?” flashes through my mind and evokes a giggle whenever I say snickerdoodle…

I’ve decided that the Monster Cookies recipe will be my first baking project. I am drawn to this is collaborative approach between Sesame Street’s beloved cookie loving character and my favourite ingredients in creating coookkkkiiieeessss!!!

The knitting patterns are simple and quick. Perfect for that instant gratification feeling when I’ve lost my knitting mojo or need a diversion from a long standing wip

Last Friday afternoon, I decided to abandon my current lace project (temporarily of course), while I foraged through my yarn stash and found a skein of Fleece Artist BFL in aran weight.

image

Fleece Artist BFL

I cast on Cobblestone Boot Toppers, which are knit in the round.

image

Photo taken at The DKC HQ

By the evening, I had a pair of the trendiest accessory on this side of the pond.

image

Photo taken at The Hopsack

So, I’ve been sporting them in and around the local cafes this past weekend.

image

Photo taken at Two Fifty Square

Photo taken at Martcade

image

There are five sewing projects for anyone venturing into the world of fabric. The patterns are very simple, and will inspire any crafter to personalise their own project.

The Princes Street Market Tote would make a perfect project bag as a carry all for all my knitting gear.

20141111-234320.jpgcopyright Evin O’Keeffe

As for fabric stash busting…I’m going to try my hand at some bunting for Christmas : )

20141111-232331.jpgcopyright Evin O’Keeffe

This inspiring craft/recipe eBook edition is available through Ravelry and SIGNED Paperback edition is available from Anchor and Bee.

Also, exclusive to readers of The Dublin Knit Collective is a discount code when purchasing a copy of Bake Knit Sew, just enter BLOGTOUR for 10% off your entire order.

For a bit of fun, I have one e-book version of Bake Knit Sew to giveaway to one of my blog readers.

All you need to do is leave a comment below by 4:00 p.m. GMT Sunday 23rd November 2014, telling me if you are a baker, knitter or sewer or a combination of all three to be in a chance to win a copy of the ebook. Good luck! No purchase necessary. Void where prohibited. Winner must have a valid email address or Ravelry account. Value of the prize is $16.00. No cash equivalent will be offered.

Note: Thank you to Evin O’Keeffe for including me in her first blog tour, and donating an e-copy of Bake Knit Sew

19 Responses to “Bake Knit Sew…all rolled into one”

  1. I am a baker with lots of knitting and sewing relatives and friends

  2. Great book – will be baking from it! D – lovely pic of you:)

  3. I am a knitter. I cook some but don’t do a lot of baking. I love the boot toppers and shawl pattern in the book.
    knittingdancer on Ravelry

  4. I am observer and planner. I love looking at knitting and crochet books & blogs. Hopefully soon I will pick up the courage to get the needles clacking☺

  5. I’m a knitter and baker but dabbling in sewing these days 🙂

  6. I’m a knitter with aspirations of sewing.

  7. I am a knitter who also sews and bakes

  8. Best of Luck with the book here’s to the start of something new

  9. Hi I’m a dabbler in sewing and love to knit in winter and bake too much! Congratulations to great new Irish author!

  10. Great review D ****

  11. I am a knitter, baker and a wannabe sewer. Love the review D

  12. i think that this book was made for me as I knit, sew and bake and it would make a welcome addition to my library!

  13. I’m a baker and knitter and would like improve my very basic sewing skills

  14. I’m all three – so this book is perfect for me 🙂

  15. I’m a knitter and poor attempt at a baker 🙂 Always learning though

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

