The Dublin KNiT ReView

After reviewing a couple of books (here and here) last year, I decided to make this add a new series on The DKC….

The Dublin KNiT ReView

image

My January blues brightened up when I recently received a sample skein of DK weight yarn from new indie dyer, Fiona of Green Elephant Crochet.

image

The name of this colourway is appropriately name, Winter Sky. Vibrant blues to smokey grey, which captures the morning skies over Dublin in the middle of January.

The base yarn is a wool/nylon mix of 80/20.

image

Opening up the skein, the dye has taken evenly throughout the yarn strands with no signs of blotchiness. I’ve scored this a 4 out of 5 on first impressions.

image

One of my favourite shawl patterns is Multnomah, and I knit up a swatch in feather and fan using 4.5mm needles. This is before blocking:

image

A soft drape and feel to the swatch. However, I was not too crazy about the colour distribution of the blues and greys. One of my non-knitter friends, Lucia, even noted how the turquoise blue leaned on to one side of the swatch. I was quite impressed on how she spotted this slight type of pooling. She also made note of the softness of the fabric.

The swatch on the blocking wires:

image

Blocking out a shawl is highly recommended and I found it was holding a nice drape and shape, which I rate as a 3.75 out of 5.

image

The second swatch, a toddler sized sock, knit on 3mm circular needles, and I loved the self striping effect of the blues and greys. The same non-knitter friend also noted how the yarn created the stripes evenly. She was amazed at how the stripes just appeared just like magic…. on 3mm needles, it created a sturdy and slightly dense fabric. 4 out of 5 for a pair of winter socks.

image

I decided that Green Elephant Crochet’s DK weight would be perfect for a cowl. So I logged on to Ravelry and found that the Honey Cowl was the most popular cowl a few evenings ago.

So using 5mm needles, I swatched this:

image

I was mesmerised by the brilliant blues toned down by the grey hues. It has a nice drape after a soak bath in Eucalan.

The hues of Winter Sky makes for a bright Honey Cowl that will beat those winter blues….

Yarn Specs:
Hand dyed in Dublin by Green Elephant Crochet
Base : wool/nylon 80/20
Care : hand wash

One Comment to “The Dublin KNiT ReView”

  1. Thank you for your lovely review. I think I need to make myself some socks using yarn in this colourway! 🙂 x

Leave a Reply

